Press "Enter" to skip to content

Coronavirus: Here’s what tier each county in California is on Nov. 24

Officials moved three more of California’s 58 counties to the most restrictive purple tier of the state’s four-tier coronavirus tracking system on Tuesday, Nov. 24.

There are now 45 counties in the purple tier after Tuesday changes.

Two counties that were categorized in the least restrictive yellow tier last week, were moved to orange. There are now five counties in the orange tier and eight in the red tier.

Counties are assigned to a tier based on metrics showing the speed and the spread of the virus in their borders.


A list of what businesses are impacted by each tier is included below.

Note: The state recently added a new metric called health equity. For a county with a population of greater than 106,000, the county must: Ensure that the test positivity rates in its most disadvantaged neighborhoods – the Healthy Places Index census tracts are used for that – do not significantly lag behind its overall county test positivity rate. There are additional conditions listed on the state’s site.


State metrics:


How different are the tiers?

Purple is the most restrictive, especially for education. Schools in the Widespread (purple) tier aren’t permitted to reopen for in-person instruction unless they receive a waiver from local health departments for TK-6 grades. Schools can reopen for in-person instruction once their county has been in the red tier for at least two weeks. If a county regresses back to the purple tier, schools won’t be forced to close again, but any that hadn’t open would be prevented from opening until the county clocks at least two weeks in the red tier.

Source: California Department of Finance 

Source: Orange County Register

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: